In progress indicator

Ground cover

In progress indicator
Full size image

Comment from Toptaff

Close

House rules are loading...

In progress indicator

We are processing your monitoring request...

In progress indicator

In progress indicator

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Cancel and close this form

Has anyone a suggestion for low growing,ground cover to plant on a south facing bank to stabilise the soil?
This is a recently created bank in a 'blank canvas' garden.

• Views: 1398
  • Replies: 12
  • Posted: Tue. 1st November 2011 18:29

Re: Ground cover

Reply from Christopher Moss

I am a bit of a novice too but...have you tried Hungarian grazing rye? Although it does grow you can treat it very much like grass - cut it down if you need to. Works well during the winter and helps to improve the soil. Green in colour can get loads of seeds for £2. Google it see what you think.
Keep it in the soil during the winter then dig it over a month before putting other plants in.

• Posted: Wed. 2nd November 2011 07:53

Re: Re: Ground cover

Reply from Toptaff

Thanks Chris but I'm looking for a suitable perennial to go there.The aforementioned bank is quite steep & not very accessible.

• Posted: Tue. 8th November 2011 08:56

Reply from Carol

Were you looking for an ornamental? Or something productive? and just one thing to cover the whole area? Sweet woodruff is good (and low), or alpine strawberries, or several of the spreading hardy geraniums (cinerea, Anne Folkard), or lithospermum or hardy pinks. The list is surely quite long! Is it dry? or good and moist? Acidic soil? I just described some of the planting on one of my southfacing banks...

• Posted: Thu. 3rd November 2011 20:56

Reply from Toptaff

I'm looking for something perennial & decorative,though the most important thing is something 'rooty' to hold the bank together.