In progress indicator

Tree novice

In progress indicator
Full size image

Comment from Deirdre

Close

House rules are loading...

In progress indicator

We are processing your monitoring request...

In progress indicator

In progress indicator

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Cancel and close this form

Hi guys,

I'm a gardening novice and I'm researching tree suggestions to include in our border.

I like the idea of the 'goat willow ' for example but it grows to 12m when mature.

My question is (probably a very simple one): is there a way of stopping a tree growing to its full height of 12m through cutting and pruning? Can it be done or would it kill the tree?

Thanks guys,any help wold be greatly appreciated!

• Views: 676
  • Replies: 5
  • Posted: Sun. 1st January 2012 22:10

Re: Tree novice

Reply from Carol

You can contain many things - but goat willows are more like weeds than garden plants. Isn't there something with more specific visual interest in one season or another, or that provides food for some interesting local wildlife that would be more valuable to your garden plan?

• Posted: Tue. 3rd January 2012 16:43

Reply from Ruskins Trees

There are plenty of options, when planting trees it is prudent to look at the mature size, even if that is decades off. It seems unwise to plant a tree that needs ongoing management to control size.

We are used to assisting people who approach us with " I want a tree, only not sure which one".

Let us know what you are trying to achieve from the tree (wildlife/native/flowers/autumn colour / upright / evergreen.....) and any personal preferences. This with your location, soil type and planting location (i.e. seaside/chalk/shade) and we can start a discussion as to your optimum tree.

Kind regards

Robert

• Posted: Sat. 7th January 2012 18:06

Re: Re: Tree novice

Reply from Kitty Lloyd-Lawrence