OK
In progress indicator

double and single flowers how do you know?

In progress indicator
Full size image

Question from Deirdre

Close

House rules are loading...

In progress indicator

We are processing your monitoring request...

In progress indicator

In progress indicator

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Cancel and close this form

Hi,

I'm a novice gardener who is interested in starting a wildlife garden. I have a long wish list of wildlife friendly plants after some research and thanks to this amazing website!

I know that the best flowers for wildlife are single flowers rather than double but how do you know if they are single or double? Before you buy? (It would be a great feature if it could be added to the plant descriptions on the website!)

Also I would love some suggestions for a shrub (possibly evergreen, beginner level) that would bear berries from early winter to late spring that birds would love (I have holly on my wish list as one option but i'd love to give the birds more choice!)

Thanks eveyone :-)

• Views: 1071
  • Replies: 4
  • Posted: Tue. 21st August 2012 12:42

Re: double and single flowers how do you know?

Reply from Patricia Jones

If the plant has Flora Plena after its name this indicates it is double flower and you are correct no good for bees or butterflies.
Any rose that produces hips, Rosa Rugosa and many ground cover roses have hips in winter.The RSPB suggests,
dog rose, guelder rose, elder, hawthorn, honeysuckle and ivy), attractive shrubs like cotoneaster, pyracantha and berberis are especially good for a wide range of birds.

• Posted: Tue. 21st August 2012 12:50

Reply from Deirdre

Thanks Patricia for the help :-)

• Posted: Tue. 21st August 2012 14:22

Reply from carol sherratt

Hi