In progress indicator

Help

In progress indicator
Full size image

Comment from Louise Harrison

Close

House rules are loading...

In progress indicator

We are processing your monitoring request...

In progress indicator

In progress indicator

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Cancel and close this form

Hi everyone, I am very new to gardening and I am hoping you can help me. I found this in amongst my lupins and I before I destroy it, I would like to know what it is, and if it is a friend or foe.

thanks in advance and happy gardening

HelpHelp

Click image to enlarge

• Views: 417
  • Replies: 8
  • Posted: Sat. 15th March 2014 14:55

Re: Help

Reply from Carol

It's hard to tell without the leaves open, but it could be a kind of Cornus (dogwood).

• Posted: Sat. 15th March 2014 15:13

Reply from Louise Harrison

Thank you for your speedy reply. Will try and get another picture when the leaves are open. It appeared last year and kept its colour all winter.

• Posted: Sat. 15th March 2014 15:22

Re: Re: Help

Reply from Carol

Sounds even more like Cornus. They have coloured stems that are really attractive through the winter. The theory is that if you cut them to above the lowest couple of buds as the first buds open they will bush out - and then you leave the bare stems for winter colour.

• Posted: Sat. 15th March 2014 16:54

Reply from Alexia at Blooming Marvellous Plants

I think it's some kind of willow...probably goat willow which grows from seeds that arrive as if from nowhere. Its a common weed in plant nurseries that overwater. You need to pull it out, root and all,

• Posted: Sun. 30th March 2014 18:50

Reply from Alexia at Blooming Marvellous Plants

I think it's some kind of willow...probably goat willow which grows from seeds that arrive as if from nowhere. Its a common weed in plant nurseries that overwater. You need to pull it out, root and all,

• Posted: Sun. 30th March 2014 18:50

Reply from Samantha Jane