In progress indicator

Foliage Plants

In progress indicator
Full size image

Question from M Mitchell

Close

House rules are loading...

In progress indicator

We are processing your monitoring request...

In progress indicator

In progress indicator

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Cancel and close this form

Hi,

I've recently taken an interest in plants and gardening since I'm now studying biology at school and plant biology interests me.

I went to Homebase today and bought three foliage plants, but I didn't realise until I came home that they hadn't been named on the pot and I'd like to learn what they are? If anybody could help me I'd really appreciate it.

Thank you!

Foliage Plants

Click image to enlarge

• Views: 983
  • Replies: 10
  • Posted: Mon. 28th September 2009 18:05

Mystery plants

Reply from Kathy C

Hi, M,
The third photo is definitely a Codiaeum variegatum var. pictum - common nameCroton . Not sure what cultivar (variety) as there are numerous on the market. Maybe 'Bravo'. The other ones are a bit tricky - could be a number of things but I would need a closer shot of the leaves. Will you be able to post some more photos with close-ups?

Kathy C

• Posted: Tue. 29th September 2009 18:58

RE: Mystery Plants

Reply from M Mitchell

Hi,

Thank you for the reply! I can only upload one image at a time, and I'm not sure which part of the plant is more important in classifying it, so I'll upload a few.

I looked up the Croton, and I'm surprised a plant with such fascinating uses and history would be given such an impersonal label as 'Foliage Plant' lol. Thank you very much for identifying it!!

Mat

Click image to enlarge

• Posted: Wed. 30th September 2009 14:46

Reply from M Mitchell

This one also has brown/ flaky tips on some of its leaves, that looks dead. May I ask if there's anything I can do to prevent that in future, if you know of a way?? Thanks,

Mat

Click image to enlarge