In progress indicator

Heated propagators - what to grow?

In progress indicator
Full size image

General post from Sarah Ansell

Close

House rules are loading...

In progress indicator

We are processing your monitoring request...

In progress indicator

In progress indicator

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Cancel and close this form

My husband has just brought me two heated propagators for the windowsill of our new conservatory. It's north facing and gets very little direct sun, although is glass and quite bright. I'm worried plants will get leggy.

I've only grown from plugs in cold frames before, so need to know more about what sort of seeds need to go in them? Complete beginner at this so any tips gratefully received.

I'd like suggestions for plants I can grow to put in containers. My garden ranges from very shady to hot and sunny at the front, but we can get frost until quite late. I'm interested in plants for insects, smell and also to brighten the darker part of the back terrace.

Many thanks, Sarah

• Views: 1635
  • Replies: 3
  • Posted: Fri. 5th February 2010 16:36

Propagation tips

Reply from EMMA LOWTHER WRIGHT

Hello Sarah

Heated propagators are fabulous for getting a head start! Plants do tend to go leggy if they don't get enough light though, is there another windowsill you can use? If not I would recommend that you wait until the light improves (late Feb) before sowing.

Most seeds are suitable for growing in a propagator. Grab some seed trays or pots and almost fill with compost. Make a shallow furrow in the compost for each row you are sowing. Water using a fine spray until the compost is moist but not saturated.

If the seeds are small you can mix with a little sand. This will help with handling and it will be easier to see where you have sown them.

Larger seeds are best sown individually. Put a few at a time in your hand and place them at intervals along the row.