In progress indicator

"Kestrel" potatoes

In progress indicator
Full size image

Question from Johnnie

Close

House rules are loading...

In progress indicator

We are processing your monitoring request...

In progress indicator

In progress indicator

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Comment on a listing

Cancel and close this form

I grew Kestrel potatoes this year and were a great disappointment. Supposedly good all-rounders they disintegrated on boiling or even steaming though did okay roasted (from raw). Anybody else come up with this problem?

• Views: 1614
  • Replies: 4
  • Posted: Sun. 14th September 2008 18:51

Misbehaving Kestrel

Reply from Kathy C

Hi, Johnnie and John,
So frustrating when all that work gives you a disappointing end! Intrigued by your dilemma, I did a little 'digging' as to what might be causing the problem. I am not an expert on growing spuds, but what I found was interesting. Most places selling Kestrel call it a good all-rounder but they do state they are best for roasting and baking - implies they aren't good when boiled. Blogs and allotment forums have indicated they are not the easy-going growers and cookers as proported - and that they aren't the best for boiling. One went so far as to say he would never grown them again but changed his mind since they are so good at resisting slugs and snails. I did find this little bit of advice at http://www.potatoesnb.com/consumers/faqs.asp
about any variety of potato disintegrating when boiled:

'If your potatoes are disintegrating when boiled, cook them 5 minutes less than you normally would and drain them quickly. If potatoes are produced during a very dry growing season, they will tend to have a higher than normal solid content and less moisture. When these are cooked, they absorb more water than usual and, as a result, fall apart at the end of cooking.'

Hope some of this info has helped. Please let me know if the boiling for 5 minutes less helped.
Good luck!
Kathy C